“I wish there was something I could do to make you smile again”


In case you are noticing a pattern, you are correct! Sunday, is music day. This is the day when I reflect on my conversations and experiences for the week and convert them to song. If you read last Sundays post, I beg, stole and I borrowed, you would have seen my theory of having a “soundtrack for your life”.

This week’s selection is inspired by some of my encounters with people I wait on when I am bartending. Bartenders have long been called “the poor man’s therapist”, and with good reason. Nice atmosphere, music, a friendly face and booze lends itself to the very environment that is ripe for pouring out one’s soul. So, for all you therapists out there, put a mini-bar in your office and you will hit Freudian pay dirt!

Getting back to the song at hand! I was driving to of all places, my therapist (no mini-bar), and this song came on the radio. It summed up my feelings when I hear people telling me how broken their relationships are in there lives. Not just romantic ones, but friendships, work, family and even the relationship they have with themselves. This song doesn’t just represent the obvious of physically breaking free and leaving. It represents that we have a habit of putting obstacles in the way of our own happiness.

The problem is all inside your head, She said to me
The answer is easy if you take it logically
I’d like to help you in your struggle to be free

Xoxo,
Amy

MTaB wants to hear from you

