Dear Son

For those of you new to my blog, Sundays are all about the music. Each Sunday, I reflect on the foolishness of the week before. Setting it to song keeps me from losing my shit in public.

This past week, my son (who is about to turn 14 and is in the throes of teenage angst), filled me in on some of his Life experiences.  Apparently, middle school morons are still in full force and effect in the year 2014.

As my son was explaining to me how kids assume he is poor because his chauffeur (me) is not lined up in the carpool parade in a Maserati or Mercedes, but a Chevy and/or Dodge, I found myself resisting the urge to throw my $54k “shitbox” into 4-wheel drive low and clear a path!  Or, how we MUST be broke because he chooses to wear sweatshirts, sweatpants and sneakers instead of the ever “original” rich kid costume of Hilfiger khakis and pastel Polo shirts with the collar “popped”. (I survived the 80s and saw this look crash and burn on these douchebags’ parents!)

Luckily for me, the apple does NOT fall far from the proverbial tree!  You see, in my family we have a little thing called “self-esteem”.  We don’t give a shit what people like this think of us.  We just don’t like being annoyed by said jack-asses.

I proceeded to take a few deep breaths and let my son in on one of Life’s little secrets:

kids that peak in high school, suck at real life

Truthfully, I feel badly for anyone who places their worth and other’s worth on things.  Because, it is a lonely world when you lose “things” and you find out your “friends” have no reason to hang with you anymore.

That, my friends, is where today’s song comes in.  You see, it says everything I believe in for my son.

Boy, don’t you worry.
You’ll find yourself.
Follow you heart,
and nothing else.
You can do this,
if you try.
All that I want for you my son,
is to be satisfied.
Be a simple kind of man.
Be something you love and understand.

-Lynyrd Skynyrd

Xo, Amy

PS: I went and bought the kid some new threads. Afterall, Amy the badass, will always take a back seat to Amy the Mom.

2 thoughts on “Dear Son

  1. Your son is a very rich boy because he has you for a mom and a wonderful step-father. He also has a nana who thinks he rocks. As for the expensive cars and designer clothes, they are just things. When they’re gone, what’s left? As you wrote self-esteen as well as the people who love us and truly know our worth and those are the things that really make us rich.

MTaB wants to hear from you

