Never tell your kids where you work

I feel a sense of responsibility to the global community. Like someone with super powers using them for good and not evil.

If I am going to have this media platform, I feel compelled to warn others when there is danger (or epic foolishness) lurking in our communities and in our homes.

imageConsider the following story a cautionary tale…

Once upon a busy night at work, the phone call came. The call no parent wants to get.
“Your son is on the phone.”
My heart sank. “Tell him I am extremely busy. Ask if it’s an emergency”, I said frantically.
A moment later, “he says it IS an emergency”.

Cue the dramatic music, mamma is about to have a heart attack!

imageIn a flash, I deployed my emergency resources. Like Santa calling for his Reindeer!
“On Donna to table 108 for an order!”
“On Janice to the kitchen for the birthday cake and candles!”
“On Manager to the bar to finish making my drinks!”
“On Hostess to my two new tables with menus and an apology!”

This had all the makings of the proverbial “shit show”.

I scramble to the phone trying to maintain my composure.
ME: “Honey, what’s wrong?!”
SON: “Mum, can I have my XBox back? I’m bored.”
ME: ‘click’

imageApparently we have differing opinions on what constitutes an EMERGENCY!

4 thoughts on “Never tell your kids where you work

  1. I was there that night! Priceless, and the story is exactly as it happened! I was worried for you when I heard it was an emergency. Kids!

  2. The only reason to call when I am at work or out on a date:
    1) Someone is bleeding and the bleeding has to be getting some distance because it is a severed artery. You may call me after you have called 911.
    2)Someone has stopped breathing, again with the 911.
    3) Another family member has opted to stop recording a show I have DVRed. Call me first and then 911 when I get home.

MTaB wants to hear from you

